Hannah Wilke

Within the daily ritual I was confronted with question do I want the performer to be naked or not? This lead me to the work of performance artist Hannah Wilke, various of her pieces were questioned due to the nude content allowing the viewer to question whether or not this was objectifying the female form or expressing it? This idea of the nude can lead us back to Berger’s theories implying the awareness of being viewed as naked. Luckily my performer had given me the option that if I had wanted her to be naked she would have done so. After much consideration and asking various women in what state they do this ‘ritual’. I decided that it would be best to dress the performer in her underwear and silk dressing gown. As an artist I also had to bear in mind that I wanted the performer to be as comfortable as possible in order to make the piece relatable and genuine.

Clar, A. (2006) Ana Mendieta. Toledo: Clamor Magazine. Available from: http://clamormagazine.org/issues/38/people-web.php (Accessed 2nd June 2014)

Leave a comment